I find I don't have that much to say about How to Get Away with Murder, the new vehicle kinda from Shonda Rhimes - she's not writing this one, just producing it, a distinction that a certain reviewer over at the New York Times completely missed. This is perhaps the only mistake in that now-infamous review that is marginally forgiveable, since How to Get Away with Murder does have quite a few traits I associate with Scandal: sharp edits! shocking twists! Lots of sex! (Because of course getting away with murder requires random sex. Did you think it wouldn't?) Betrayal! More sex! Wine! Revealing moments in bathrooms! And, of course, covering up for people who do really really bad things.

And yes, some of the setup is identical to Scandal: Viola Davis plays Professor Keating, who when not terrorizing law students defends murderers. She's also the leader of a group of employees/followers/sycophants, at least one of whom wants to be just like her (shades of Original Quinn back on Scandal), and one of whom seems to have actual - gasp - ethics. (He kinda stands out in the group.) The main plot goes more or less the way it did in Scandal's first two seasons (the pattern that show, thankfully, appears to be returning to): client has problem, said group runs around trying to solve problem, while BETRAYALS and SEX litter the background. The one major difference: How to Get Away with Murder also intersperses this with fairly lengthy flashbacks, something Scandal has generally used sparsely, and only to explain current things: How to Get Away with Murder, more or less borrowing from Revenge, uses these flashbacks to increase the mystery/tension and leave viewers wanting an explanation.

The chief difference, and one that apparently missed The New York Times completely, is that Olivia Pope at least believes she has ethics and believes that she is doing the right thing. She's wrong, of course, and Scandal doesn't flinch from that,* but she is astonishingly good at self-deception here, partly because she's surrounded by a bunch of unethical sociopaths.

The portrayal of Professor Keating is far more ambiguous. It's not at all clear that Keating has any ethics whatsoever, although one scene suggests that she's at least aware of that lack, and another small scene does suggest that she strongly believes that all of her students have the right to learn things. Olivia Pope ives and works in a world of massive deception. Professor Keating - so far, at least - appears to be trying to create a second one.

Anyway, two things became apparent: one, this will probably be another hit, and two, it's going to be another one of those shows that works best either through livetweeting and gasping along with other viewers, or marathoning later. I think I'm going to choose the second option: I am kinda curious to see just how unethical this show can get.

* Although an actually ethical person would have shot Fitz by now and them stomped all over him while he was dying**, Olivia, TAKE NOTE.

**Scandal is going to end with Olivia and Mellie teaming up to kill him, right? Right? REASSURE ME, everyone!
Everyone else is doing a year end television summary, so why not me? Couple of caveats, though: this is heavily weighted to recent fall shows because, well, they are recent, two, I've undoubtedly left stuff out, especially pre-September stuff, and three, this list does not include anything from Breaking Bad, Sons of Anarchy, The Walking Dead, or Reign are not on this list because I haven't seen any of them yet. I plan eventually to catch up on the first three. Reign SCARES ME. So don't ask. I've also left Orphan Black off the list since I've only seen the pilot and I'm not sure when I'll be able to watch the rest.

Anyway, the summary, behind a cut because it got incredibly long: 2013 Television shows. Not particularly spoilery except where I go off on a rant about Once Upon a Time. )
A couple more Tor.com posts, including The First Two Lives of Lukas-Kasha by Lloyd Alexander and Black Sheep by Georgette Heyer.

And yes, I realize that yet again my blogging here seems to be reduced to "hey, the latest Tor.com posts" posts. I just have not felt the blogging bug; I have a few things to say about television, like, Go Team Oliver and Felicity Go! and wow, Scandal may be the only show about government to now go several episodes into its third season without having any character decide that, you know, governing might be an awesome idea (even House of Cards, which is primarily about power plays and scandals, at least had two subplots about actual government work), and I feel that Scandal is trying to say something here about our current thoughts on government, and hey, Once Upon a Time writers, sure, kudos on sorta bouncing back from a really awful second season to an at least watchable third season, but if you want to match your main heroine up with the supposed first love of her life, you might not want to give her a sexy, sexy pirate as an alternative love interest, just saying, and seriously, Ichabod over on Sleepy Hollow, you have the nerve to criticize anyone else for their interpretations of U.S. History after a couple of your statements, or that wow, just as you think that show can't possibly get more ridiculous people start leaving 300 year old secret messages on teeth (YES THAT WAS TOTALLY IN THE SHOW) but I got nothing except Go Team Oliver and Felicity, Go!

I don't think this can be totally blamed on the semideath of Livejournal, either. It's just that the blogging bug appears to have gone into hibernation. We'll see if more profound thoughts poke it to come out, or if I just tell myself to go ahead and write more stuff. After November sweeps. Or if Sleepy Hollow gets a tad bit less ridiculous, although I suppose that would ruin the point.

October 2018

S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
14 151617181920
21222324252627
28293031   

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags